Software testing levels

Software testing is done under two levels as,

  1. Functional testing
  2. Non-functional testing

Functional testing

This is a black box testing type.  Functional testing is based on the specifications of the software that is to be tested. Here the application is tested by providing inputs. Then the results are examined and check whether the intended functionality is present. This method of testing is conducted on a complete integrated system to evaluate the system’s compliance with its specific requirements.

Under this unit testing, integration testing, system testing, regression testing, acceptance testing, alpha testing and beta testing/ pre-release testing can be done.

 Nonfunctional testing

For testing of the nonfunctional requirements like performance, usability, portability, security we can follow the nonfunctional testing.

Under this performance testing, usability testing, security testing, portability testing can be performed.

Next – Unit testing

Previous – Grey box testing